A to Z World Travel

A to Z World Culture
Information on the customs, cultures, travel, communications, money, climate and more of 175 countries. Database Link 

A.M.BEST

http://www.ambest.com/home/ratings.aspx

Reports on the financial stability of insurers and the insurance industry.

Academic OneFile

AcademicOneFile 
Search peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology and literature
Database Link 

Britannica Academic

Britannica Academic

Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Britannica Escolar

Britannica Escolar

Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Computer & Internet Basics

Provides video tutorials to strengthen basic computer knowledge and skills.

 Database Link 

Consumer Reports

consumerreports
Consumer Reports provides thorough product information and evaluates a wide array of products from automobiles to microwave ovens. Features reviews of cars, appliances, electronics, health, finance, product recalls and more.
Database Link 

CreativeBug

  Creativebug is the number one inspirational resource for DIY, crafters and makers. You can access thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Videos are always available and are broken down into chapters and can be accessed an unlimited number of times. Material lists and descriptions are included (by brand name) and transcripts and patterns can be downloaded. Online Access

Gale Virtual Reference

 galevirtuallibrary
Full-text from some of Gale’s best reference sources in the Arts, Biography, Business, Education, General Reference, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Science and Social Science  Database Link

GCF LearnFree.org

GCF LearnFree icon.pub 
Learn anywhere, anytime.
The classroom is open 24 hours a day and serves people from around the world and from all walks of life.  Learn essential skills you need to live and work in the 21st century, from Microsoft Office and email to reading, math, and more. GCFLearnFree.org offers 125 tutorials, including more than 1,100 lessons, videos, and interactives, completely free. All you need is an Internet connection.             Database Link 

JobNow

JobNow
JobNow, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job.
Database Link

Learning Express Library

logo_learning-express
Learning Centers offer the practice tests, computer skills, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Database Link 

New York State Newspapers

    Includes articles from newspapers from around New York State including: Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Observer, New York Post, and Newsday. Remote Access

Novelist

   

This readers’ advisory database has something for everyone. Adults, teens and children will be able to identify books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It provides full-text reviews, author read-alikes, links to feature articles, book talks, and book discussion guides.   Over 20,000 titles are referenced .

Database Link 

Novelist K-8

   

Teens and children will be able to identify books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations.

Database Link 

NOVELNY New York Online Virtual Electronic Library

New York State residents can find answers to any imaginable question by using their library.  NOVELNY is only one of many ways libraries organize the books, articles, and other information sources they hold.  NOVELNY makes all this information available to you – wherever you are Database link

Nuwav Legal Documents

The goal of NUWAV Legal Documents is to provide documents that meet the needs of the everyday citizen. Easily compose documents in categories like Business, Contracts, Landlord/Tenant disputes, Divorce and much more.

Database Link

Oceanside – Island Park Herald (Newsbank)

     
Find Long Island community information on topics related to business,education, government, people in the news, politics and more with dozens of New York state sources including the Oceanside – Island Park Herald.

  • click this Webpage Link
  • Enter your library barcode
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the blue box that has Oceanside-Island Park Herald.
  • Again scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the Oceanside-Island Park Herald entry
  • Although the Herald is only published on Thursdays, articles are submitted on a daily basis. Choose the date you would like to view from the calendar menu.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

opposingViewpoints_in_context
Provides contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues and debates.

Database Link 

Proquest Research Library

proquest_logo_186_notag
Provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Database Link 

RB Digital Magazines

RBdigital is an online newsstand made free to you by the Library. RBdigital delivers the ultimate magazine experience for the digital age. E-magazines can be read on your computer and a variety of mobile devices. Link

Trial

These websites are available for a limited time only on a trial basis.Please let us know what you think by sending an email with your comments to iplinfo@islandparklibrary.org. Thank You !

 

VetNow

  

Veterans can connect to a live, VA specialist to gain access to valuable information on jobs, benefits and services available to veterans.

VetNow is specifically tailored to the needs of today’s veterans who are transitioning into the civilian workforce

Live online help is available from every day 2:00 PM to 11:00 PM EST.

VetNow’s features include:
  • Live Veteran Navigator Interact with live tutors in math, science, reading/writing, social studies, PSAT/SAT, ACT, AP and state standardized tests.
  • Skills-Building Choose state-aligned lesson and get real-time help.
  • Personalized eLearning Tools My File Sharing, My Session Replay, My Tutoring Archive, My Tests Archive, and more!
  • 24-Hour Writing Lab Submit essays and other forms of writing for constructive feedback.
  • Send Question Send a question and get expert help
  • Adult Learning Center Access a library of rich adult learning content (GED) and live, professional assistance in resume/cover letter writing, U.S. citizenship prep, MS Office Essential Skills Series, and more!
  • Foreign Language Lab /Spanish-Speaking Support
  • Multiple Ways to Learn Multiple, research-based tools to accommodate all types of learners.
  • Thousands of Robust Lessons Clear explanations and vivid artwork to help users master academic concepts.
  • Broad Range of Subjects Full academic support for your patrons in hundreds of subject areas, including AP subjects, career certifications, GRE, GMAT, and more.

Database link 

 

World Book eBooks

World Book eBooks for Children collection includes highly illustrated, engaging titles that support a span of curriculum areas and reading levels.

World Book Classics eBook Classics is a collection of popular fiction and nonfiction titles from timeless authors.

ebooks by worldbook

Click here to explore the World Book eBook collection then choose the eBook icon.