The Island Park Public Library provides the community access to a wealth of authoritative information resources accessible from the comfort of your own home!

A to Z World Travel

A to Z World Culture
Information on the customs, cultures, travel, communications, money, climate and more of 175 countries. Database Link 

A.M.BEST

http://www.ambest.com/home/ratings.aspx

Reports on the financial stability of insurers and the insurance industry.

Abdo Zoom

Online research for beginning readers. Available in Spanish. If prompted, use the username abdo zoom and password 2020 Link

ABI/INFORM Complete

proquest_logo_186_notag
This database contains content from thousands of journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Database Link or Remote Access 

ABMS Directory Of Board Certified Medical Specialists

ABMS-logo1
Quick and easy access to professional information about more than 800,000 board certified physicians in 50+ specialties and 100+ subspecialties from the 24 member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). Database Links 

Academic OneFile

AcademicOneFile 
Search peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology and literature
Database Link 

AudioBookCloud

A streaming audio book collection that includes dozens of genres and all interest levels. The collection includes popular literature classics, juvenile/teen titles, mystery, sci-fi, history, biography, and more. Link

Britannica Academic

Britannica Academic

Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Britannica Escolar

Britannica Escolar

Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Britannica School

Britannica School

A source for all grades (Pre-K-12) and all reading abilities. Available at three levels–elementary, middle, and high

Business Insights: Essentials

business_insights_essential
Company profiles, industry rankings, products and brands, stock prices, investment reports, and industry statistics.
Database Link 

Career Cruising

Career Cruising
Career Cruising combines comprehensive career information with the personal perspective provided by multimedia interviews with people in a variety of occupations.  Career Cruising’s user-friendly program is suitable for people from middle school to adulthood. Database Link

Chilton Automotive

Chilton_SpotlightOn    As one of the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners, ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.  Get access to schematics, wiring diagrams, maintenance schedules and so much more for the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, classic cars dating back to the 1940s, and additional coverage of specialty model. Database link

Computer & Internet Basics

Provides video tutorials to strengthen basic computer knowledge and skills.

 Database Link 

Consumer Reports

consumerreports
Consumer Reports provides thorough product information and evaluates a wide array of products from automobiles to microwave ovens. Features reviews of cars, appliances, electronics, health, finance, product recalls and more.
Database Link 

CreativeBug

  Creativebug is the number one inspirational resource for DIY, crafters and makers. You can access thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Videos are always available and are broken down into chapters and can be accessed an unlimited number of times. Material lists and descriptions are included (by brand name) and transcripts and patterns can be downloaded. Online Access

Early World of Learning

World Book’s site for pre-school and early elementary school students. Includes narrated stories, interactive games, original videos, and a “my first” encyclopedia. Link

Gale Virtual Reference

 galevirtuallibrary
Full-text from some of Gale’s best reference sources in the Arts, Biography, Business, Education, General Reference, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Science and Social Science  Database Link

GCF LearnFree.org

GCF LearnFree icon.pub 
Learn anywhere, anytime.
The classroom is open 24 hours a day and serves people from around the world and from all walks of life.  Learn essential skills you need to live and work in the 21st century, from Microsoft Office and email to reading, math, and more. GCFLearnFree.org offers 125 tutorials, including more than 1,100 lessons, videos, and interactives, completely free. All you need is an Internet connection.             Database Link 

General OneFile

general_onefile_lg
News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
Database Link 

Global Road Warrior

Global Road Warrior
Covers 175 countries and addresses 22 categories of interest to travelers. Database Link

Health Reference Center Academic

health_rc_academic_lg
This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
Database Link 

Heritage Quest Online

heritagequest
A unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture.
Database Link 

Historical Newsday (May 22, 2003 – June 30, 2016)

Scroll down to the bottom of the page,choose the year, month and date of edition you want to read. This is text only no pictures or no graphs.

webpage link

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2016)

proquest_logo_186_notag
Historical local, regional and national news from the New York Times archives.
Database Link 

JobNow

JobNow
JobNow, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job.
Database Link

Kids Discovery

An award-winning library of over 2,000 visually stunning science and social studies articles for Elementary and Middle School learners.

Sign in using : Username: nasboces Password: nasboces Website link 

Kids InfoBits

thumbnail of info bits logo
Kids InfoBits is a database for students in kindergarten through grade 5. It features a kid-friendly graphic interface with full-text content from elementary reference sources and magazines. Kids InfoBits covers geography, current events, the arts and sciences, people, government, history, and more.

 Database Link

Law Help

LawHelp.org helps people of low and moderate incomes find free legal aid programs in their communities, answers to questions about their legal rights and forms to help them with their legal problems. Website

Learning Express Library

logo_learning-express
Learning Centers offer the practice tests, computer skills, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Database Link 

Live Homework Help – Tutor.com

    
Provides online tutoring, homework help, and career services.  Service available from 2-10 PM daily. Includes Spanish assistance.

Database Link

Nassau County Bar Association

Nassau County Bar Association

Natural Medicines

NAtural Medicines logo 
Authoritative information regarding complementary and alternative medicine. Database Link 

New York Daily News (1995-Present)

To read a recent edition of the New York Daily News

  • click on this webpage link
  • enter your library barcode
  • locate the banner towards the top of the page: Basic Search Advanced Search Publications Browse Databases 
  • click on Publications
  • type New York Daily News in the search box, leave  In Title as is click on the Search button
  • choose either #2. New York Daily News
  • You can click on Latest available issue or scroll down to the bottom of the page to choose the year, month and date of the edition you want to read. This is text only –  no pictures or graphs.

 

New York Post (January 19, 2000 – March 6, 2020)

The latest available issue is listed first or choose the edition you want to read from the drop down menu.

This is text only no pictures or no graphs.

webpage link

New York State Newspapers

    Includes articles from newspapers from around New York State including: Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Observer, New York Post, and Newsday. Remote Access

New York State Unified Court System

NYCourts.gov

Nassau County – 10th Judicial District

New York Statutes

New York Code – Laws of NY

New York Times – Online Edition (2015-Present)

Scroll down to the bottom of the page,choose the year, month and date of edition you want to read. This is text only no pictures or no graphs.

webpage link

New York Times ( January 1, 1965 – Present)

Choose the edition you want to read from the drop down menu. This is text only no pictures or no graphs.

webpage link

Newsday (Historical 1940-1990)

proquest_logo_186_notag
Local and regional news
Database Link 

Newsday (Jan 1, 1970 – present)

To read a recent edition of Newsday

  • go to this webpage link
  • locate banner towards the top of the page:Basic Search Advanced Search Publications Browse Databases (6)
  • click on Publications
  • type Newsday in the search box, leave  In Title click on the search button
  • choose the #2. entry Newsday, Combined editions, Long Island NY Jan. 1 1970 – present
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the page,choose the year,month & date of edition you want to read.This is text only no pictures or graphs.

 

Niche Academy

Instructional video tutorials for digital library resources. Database link

Novelist

   

This readers’ advisory database has something for everyone. Adults, teens and children will be able to identify books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It provides full-text reviews, author read-alikes, links to feature articles, book talks, and book discussion guides.   Over 20,000 titles are referenced .

Database Link 

Novelist K-8

   

Teens and children will be able to identify books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations.

Database Link 

NOVELNY New York Online Virtual Electronic Library

New York State residents can find answers to any imaginable question by using their library.  NOVELNY is only one of many ways libraries organize the books, articles, and other information sources they hold.  NOVELNY makes all this information available to you – wherever you are Database link

Nuwav Legal Documents

The goal of NUWAV Legal Documents is to provide documents that meet the needs of the everyday citizen. Easily compose documents in categories like Business, Contracts, Landlord/Tenant disputes, Divorce and much more.

Database Link

NYS Library – Legal Resources

Legal Resources

Oceanside – Island Park Herald (Newsbank)

     

Find Long Island community information on topics related to business,education, government, people in the news, politics and more with dozens of New York state sources including the Oceanside – Island Park Herald.

  • click this Webpage Link
  • Enter your library barcode
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the blue box that has Oceanside-Island Park Herald.
  • Again scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the Oceanside-Island Park Herald entry
  • Although the Herald is only published on Thursdays, articles are submitted on a daily basis. Choose the date you would like to view from the calendar menu.

Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives

The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives. Website link

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

opposingViewpoints_in_context
Provides contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues and debates.

Database Link 

OverDrive – Nassau Digital Doorway – Libby app

     

Read eBooks and listen to audiobooks from your library using the Nassau Digital Doorway.

Database Link

Pronunciator

pronunciator-403x138
Pronunciator, fun and easy way to learn, combines interactive online courses with integrated, downloadable audio courses. You can learn 80 languages in any of 50 languages. Pronunciator offers a vast ESL curriculum , with courses in 50 non-English languages.

*PLEASE NOTE ** Pronunciator requires Adobe Flash and may not be compatiable with Google Chrome. It is recommended that you use Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer to access this database.

Database Link

 

 

ProQuest Global Newsstream

proquest_logo_186_notag 

ProQuest Newsstand includes a balance of national and regional newspapers chosen for their journalistic excellence and regional representation. All titles are available in full text. Papers include national titles such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. In IP Library or Remote Access 

 

Proquest Research Library

proquest_logo_186_notag

Provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Database Link 

RB Digital Magazines

RBdigital is an online newsstand made free to you by the Library. RBdigital delivers the ultimate magazine experience for the digital age. E-magazines can be read on your computer and a variety of mobile devices. Link

Scholastic Go !

  

It offers the most comprehensive source of nonfiction content targeted for grades 3 and up – Includes 8 encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, Amazing Animals of the World, and The New Book of Popular Science

Link

Science in Context

science_in_context
From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers. Science in Context delivers integrated content through comprehensive reference sets from Gale Encyclopedia of Science, Chemical Elements, Science in Dispute and Macmillan Science Library.

Database Link 

Sesame Street eBooks

logo (1)
Enjoy Sesame Street eBooks from your home computer, or on a computer in the library!

In Library Database Link               At Home Database Link

TeenBook Cloud

     
  This collection has a variety of books teens want – fantasy, science fiction and   dystopian, graphic novels, crime and mystery, thriller and horror, romance, drama & poetry, contemporary, and more – in a format that is both engaging and completely accessible on their smartphones and tablets.

Database Link

Trial

These websites are available for a limited time only on a trial basis.Please let us know what you think by sending an email with your comments to iplinfo@islandparklibrary.org. Thank You !

 

Tumble Books & Tumble Math

TumbleBooks-Logo
A collection of talking, animated picture books, puzzles, and quizzes.

* * NEWLY ADDED* *  Math books and fun quizzes !

Includes resources for teachers.

Database Link

Tutor.com

   
 
  Provides online tutoring,  and career services. Job Search Assistance, Skills Building, Drop-off Resume and Cover Letter Review. Includes Spanish assistance.

Database Link

Twayne’s Author Series

twaynes_lg

Full text of Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.
Database Link 

 

VetNow

  

Veterans can connect to a live, VA specialist to gain access to valuable information on jobs, benefits and services available to veterans.

VetNow is specifically tailored to the needs of today’s veterans who are transitioning into the civilian workforce

Live online help is available from every day 2:00 PM to 11:00 PM EST.

VetNow’s features include:
  • Live Veteran Navigator Interact with live tutors in math, science, reading/writing, social studies, PSAT/SAT, ACT, AP and state standardized tests.
  • Skills-Building Choose state-aligned lesson and get real-time help.
  • Personalized eLearning Tools My File Sharing, My Session Replay, My Tutoring Archive, My Tests Archive, and more!
  • 24-Hour Writing Lab Submit essays and other forms of writing for constructive feedback.
  • Send Question Send a question and get expert help
  • Adult Learning Center Access a library of rich adult learning content (GED) and live, professional assistance in resume/cover letter writing, U.S. citizenship prep, MS Office Essential Skills Series, and more!
  • Foreign Language Lab /Spanish-Speaking Support
  • Multiple Ways to Learn Multiple, research-based tools to accommodate all types of learners.
  • Thousands of Robust Lessons Clear explanations and vivid artwork to help users master academic concepts.
  • Broad Range of Subjects Full academic support for your patrons in hundreds of subject areas, including AP subjects, career certifications, GRE, GMAT, and more.

Database link 

 

Wall Street Journal Online (Jan 8, 2010 – present)

To read a recent edition of the Wall Street Journal

  • click on this webpage link
  • enter your library barcode
  • locate the banner towards the top of the page: Basic Search Advanced Search Publications Browse Databases (6)
  • click on Publications
  • type Wall Street Journal in the search box, leave  In Title as is click on the Search button
  • choose either #2. WSJ Eastern Edition or #5. WSJ (Online)
  • You can click on Latest available issue or scroll down to the bottom of the page to choose the year, month and date of the edition you want to read. This is text only –  no pictures or graphs.

 

 

World Book Early World of Learning

World Book Early World of Learning

Strengthen reading foundations and master early learning themes through interactive games, read along stories and original videos.  Also explore the Know It encyclopedia designed for early readers.

Database Link 

World Book eBooks

World Book eBooks for Children collection includes highly illustrated, engaging titles that support a span of curriculum areas and reading levels.

World Book Classics eBook Classics is a collection of popular fiction and nonfiction titles from timeless authors.

ebooks by worldbook

Click here to explore the World Book eBook collection then choose the eBook icon.

World Book Kids

World Book Online for Kids is specifically for primary school aged patrons. It has thousands of easy-to-read articles, age appropriate interactive games and activities, interactive maps, a biography center and a science projects section.

Database Link