A source for all grades (Pre-K-12) and all reading abilities. Available at three levels–elementary, middle, and high
Fiero Code
Self-paced learn-to code software for kids ages 8-18 with hundreds of coding tutorials and dozens of real-world projects. Access requires an Island Park barcode plus the creation of an account (username/password/email address required). Database Link
Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits is a database for students in kindergarten through grade 5. It features a kid-friendly graphic interface with full-text content from elementary reference sources and magazines. Kids InfoBits covers geography, current events, the arts and sciences, people, government, history, and more.
LOTE Online For Kids Storytime in your Language
LOTE Online for Kids an online database of digital books in World Languages, that allows kids to enjoy the magic of books in LOTE (LanguagesOther Than English).
Each book also comes with English translations to help kids learn languages.
LOTE Online for Kids has over 1350+ digital picture books in 45+ languages, with new books and languages released each month
How LOTE Online for Kids can help you.
- Help ESL kids to learn English while holding onto mother tongue
- Provide an additional resource for kids learning languages at school.
Novelist Plus K-8
.titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations. Teens and children will be able to identify books based on
NOVELNY New York Online Virtual Electronic Library
New York State residents can find answers to any imaginable question by using their library. NOVELNY is only one of many ways libraries organize the books, articles, and other information sources they hold. NOVELNY makes all this information available to you – wherever you are Database link
OverDrive – Libby app
Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more from your local library via Libby and the Nassau Digital Doorway.
Download or open Libby on your device:
- iOS devices: Apple App Store
- Android devices: Google Play
- Amazon Fire tablets: Amazon Appstore
- Windows, Mac, and Chromebooks: Nassau Digital Doorway
Click here for instructions for downloading eBooks and Audiobooks to your eReader.
Tutor.com
Live one-on-one help for elementary school, middle school, high school, and beginner college students as well as adult education students and those looking for career assistance (i.e. writing resumes and preparing for interviews)–available everyday from 2pm to 10pm. Skill Center available 24/7. Includes Spanish assistance. First time users click on Create an Account.
World Geography
Focuses on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces in our globalized world. Includes information on landforms and climate, natural resources and agriculture, people, food and holidays, national dress, art and landmarks, and government, politics, and economics.
Onsite: http://worldgeography.abc-clio.com/
Remote: http://worldgeography.abc-clio.com/authentication/barcode
